What Do Success and Failure Mean to You Writing on Medium?

Nour Boustani
3 min readSep 22, 2022

I know, I know, everyone writes here for their personal reason, and it’s not my business to stick my nose in your business, but I can’t help it. I got a big nose and it likes to go into many delicious places including talking about the purpose of your business. ;P

Medium is a full or side project to many of us; we all write here for the reason that might be clear or unclear in our minds; some of us want to reach more people and help, others want to make money, and many have no clear idea in mind.

In my opinion, a project without clear objectives and metrics for defining failure and success is a hobby or an ongoing project that takes you nowhere and wastes your time.

Today I want you to define what success and failure mean to you writing on Medium. As usual, I will talk about myself first, then give you the mic.

I want to establish a personal brand around money and entrepreneurship, so I need to reach a large audience and attract publishing opportunities, such as a book deal, within two years.

Another measure of success for me on Medium is earning $30K to $50K annually after twelve to eighteen months of writing on Medium. If I don’t reach these goals, I will declare that my performance and strategy on Medium is a failure, not Medium as a failing…

--

--